Are you looking for ways to get rid of a domain from Google Workspace for any reason? You can understand how to do it here.
If you wish to get rid of a domain from Google Workspace but wish to keep your Workspace Account, you can know how to do it here. Some people wish to remove a domain from Google Workspace just because they have a secondary domain alias or additional domain. When they no longer use this secondary domain, they wish to remove it from Google Workspace Account.
Before you know how to remove a domain, you should remember that once removed, your customers will not get any email and other Communications at the domain.
Now, let us learn how to get rid of a domain from your Google Workspace:
Steps to Remove A Domain from Google Workspace:
- The first thing you will have to do is to log in to your Google Admin Console.
- Let us consider that you wish to get rid of a secondary domain. Here are the steps to follow:
- Get rid of any groups connected to the domain
- Delete any user aliases connected with the domain
- From the home page of the Admin Console go to users.
- Now, you will have to spot users with the domain you wish to remove. You can spot users by:
- Using the Directory API, where you can find a list of users by giving the domain name
- Otherwise, you can download the list of users and sort or file by the domain that you can find in the email address of the users.
- Now, give a different name to any users that are connected with the domain you wish to remove. When you have a large number of users, you can go for bulk renaming as against renaming one by one.
- Get rid of any alias or test domains connected with the domain.
- In the admin console, get to the menu and then Account followed by Domains and then Manage Domains.
- Under the Manage Domains section, look for the domain that you wish to remove and click the “Remove” option.
Also, remember that when you get rid of a domain permanently, it will permanently get rid of any sites developed in that domain. So, before you remove a domain, copy any sites that you wish to save to yet another Google domain you own. To do this, you can sign in as a user in the other domain.